styrofoamdog

Dao Zhen on Dan Tian

I asked Dao Zhen recently if he could explain to me what he knows about the lower Dan Tian, and what its functions are. He gave a really excellent response....

Thank you for your letter.

I have limited experience.

So really a lot of what I say is maybe 45% personal experience and 55% stating from lectures with my teacher.

I can say that my teacher is very accomplished, and is far along the road in internal alchemy development.

I also am not sure what will develop naturally - say if you just practice and slightly focus to the dan tian, and what takes place when you receive transmission from face to face practice with an accomplished teacher and then focus to the dan tian or really the elixir field, etc.

I have taught a few people online through email, and a lot took place - but then maybe from the interaction transmission took place?

I guess I am trying to say I do not have all the answers, and am not an authority.

Yes, Qi is not indefinitely stored in the LTT.

It is also not something you continue to focus on during the course of practice.

If you keep practicing for a few years and just constantly focus to the LTT, you can cause a lot of problems, and even give yourself bad health, and internal damage, etc.

So it is important to know what is your work to do in practice, and what is the work of nature.

The Dan Tian has nothing to really do with "air" or the acquired breathing.

Dan Tian does have something to do with Pre Heaven Breathing.

Dan Tian can be thought of as a "Spring", it is where the Qi will move from so to speak.

So I am perhaps really thinking it is something we build.

This is why in the first stages, we focus there.

It is also the place where Yang Qi will be cultivated.

It is like we do cultivation there for a time.

Then we do nothing, and what was cultivated there will circulate naturally.

If in the begining there was no work done in the Dan Tian, then there is nothing to circulate.